COMMISSIONS WATCH

[8th June 2019]

Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission Shortlisted Candidates to be Publicly Interviewed on Friday 21st June at Parliament

On 31st January this year the then chairperson and all the eight members of the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission resigned.

The Constitution gives Parliament's Committee on Standing Rules and Orders [CSRO] the responsibility of advising the President on the appointment of the chairperson and other members of the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission [ZACC] [Constitution, sections 254 and 237].

The new chairperson has already been appointed by the President after consultation with CSRO, as required by section 254 of the Constitution. She is Mrs Justice Loice Matanda-Moyo.

The procedure for the appointment of the eight Commission members is different. They must be appointed from a list of at least twelve nominees submitted to the President by the CSRO. The nomination procedure is the same as that laid down by section 237 of the Constitution for the CSRO's nomination of persons for appointment to the five Chapter 12 Independent Commissions.

The CSRO has already completed the early steps in that process by publishing a public notice advertising the eight positions needing to be filled and inviting the President and members of the public to make nominations of qualified individuals [see Commissions Watch of 15th February [link]]. Nomination documents were received for 133 candidates and the CSRO then published their names and invited the public not only to submit objections to the appointment of any of the candidates, but also to submit suggestions for questions to be put to candidates when they were interviewed [see Commissions Watch of 21st March].

Now the CSRO has published notices announcing that the next step in the process will take place on Friday 21st June at Parliament, when two interviewing teams will conduct public interviews of prospective candidates as required by section 237(1)(c) of the Constitution. The interviews will be conducted in the National Assembly chamber and the Senate chamber and will start at 9 am.

The short list of 38 candidates who will be interviewed has been compiled after what the notices describe as an *"exhaustive analysis of the nominated candidates to decipher their suitability for consideration to serve on this Commission"*. Their names and the times and venues of their interviews are set out in the following tables from the CSRO notice:

ZIMBABWE ANTI-CORRUPTION COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

TEAM A DATE OF INTERVIEW : FRIDAY 21st JUNE 2019 STARTING TIME : 0900 HOURS VENUE : NATIONAL ASSEMBLY CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT

NO.	FULL NAME	GENDER	INTERVIEW SLOT		
1	MR. NOAH MARINGE	MALE	0900 HOURS		
2	MR. CHRISTOPHER DUBE-BANDA	MALE	0920 HOURS		
3	MS. NOMSA HAZEL NCUBE	FEMALE	0940 HOURS		
4	MR. TINOMUDAISHE CHINYOKA	MALE	1000 HOURS		
5	MS. FUNGAYI JESSIE MAJOME	FEMALE	1020 HOURS		
TEA BREAK 1040 – 1100HRS					
6	MRS. CAROLINE-ANN CHIGUMIRA	FEMALE	1100 HOURS		
	nee MUTEE				
7	ADVOCATE MICHAEL MAJURU	MALE	1120 HOURS		
8	ADVOCATE WILBERT	MALE	1140 HOURS		
	PFUNGWADZASHE MANDINDE				
9	MRS. SITHEMBISO ANGELA TOFA	FEMALE	1200 HOURS		
	(nee MAHLAMVANA)				
10	MR. TONGAI MATUTU	MALE	1220 HOURS		
11	MR. MATTHEW TIACHAONA	MALE	1240 HOURS		
	KUNAKA				
	LUNCH BREAK 1300 – 1400HRS				
12	MR. DAVID CHENAI CHAFANZA	MALE	1400 HOURS		
13	MR. ARNOLD MUSHUNJE	MALE	1420 HOURS		
14	MR. CALEB MUTSUMBA	MALE	1440 HOURS		
15	MR. ZONDI KUMWENDA	MALE	1500 HOURS		
16	MR. JAMES ANDREW MUSHORE	MALE	1520 HOURS		
17	MR. BASIL MASARA	MALE	1540 HOURS		
18	MR. TAWANDA MATOPE	MALE	1600 HOURS		
19	MR. THEMBELANI KOLE NCUBE	MALE	1620 HOURS		

TEAM B

DATE OF INTERVIEW : STARTING TIME : VENUE :

FRIDAY 21st JUNE 2019 0900 HOURS

SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT

NO.	FULL NAME	GENDER	INTERVIEW SLOT
1	MS. THANDIWE MLOBANE	FEMALE	0900 HOURS
2	MR. PAUL. M. MUGONI	MALE	0920 HOURS
3	MR. KENNEDY MTOMBENI	MALE	0940 HOURS
4	MR. JEFFREY TAKAWIRA MAHACHI	MALE	1000 HOURS
5	MR. BRIAN KASHANGURA	MALE	1020 HOURS
	TEA BREAK 10:40HRS – 11:00 HRS		
6	MR. FRANK MUCHENGWA	MALE	1100 HOURS

7	REVEREND GIBSON BOTOMANI	MALE	1120 HOURS
8	RETIRED MAJOR MICHAEL DENNIS SANTU	MALE	1140 HOURS
9	MR. JOHN MAKAMURE	MALE	1200 HOURS
10	MRS. TSITSI DHLIWAYO	MALE	1220 HOURS
11	MR. MARK CHIVHEYA SIBANDA	MALE	1240 HOURS
	LUNCH BREAK 13:00HRS – 14:00HRS		
12	DR. MABEL NDAKARIPA HUNGWE	FEMALE	1400 HOURS
13	MR. DUMISANI HENDRY ZISENGWE	MALE	1420 HOURS
14	MR. GABRIEL CHAIBVA	MALE	1440 HOURS
15	MR. KUZIVA PHINEAS MURAPA	MALE	1500 HOURS
16	MR. BLESSING CHEBUNDO	MALE	1520HOURS
17	MR. CHARLES. T. M. J. DUBE	MALE	1540 HOURS
18	BISHOP HENRY ZIWERERE	MALE	1600 HOURS
19	MR. PROSPER MUNYEDZA	MALE	1620 HOURS

After the interviews the CSRO must prepare a list of at least twelve of the candidates as its nominees for appointment and then submit the list to the President. The President must then appoint eight persons from that list as members of the Commission.

Veritas makes every effort to ensure reliable information, but cannot take legal responsibility for information supplied To subscribe or unsubscribe from this mailing list please email <u>billwatch@manqo.zw</u> If you wish to contact Veritas please email <u>veritas@manqo.zw</u>

If you are requesting legislation please email <u>veritas@mango.zw</u> or look for it on <u>www.veritaszim.net</u>



This work is licensed under a <u>Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.</u>