Commissions Watch Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence 25 Sept 2018 COMMISSIONS WATCH 25th September 2018 • Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence The Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence has now been set up. On the 14th September the President published a proclamation (No 6 of 2018) establishing the Commission [The proclamation can be viewed on the Veritas website – link] and the seven Commissioners were sworn in on the 19th September. Members of the Commission The Commissioners are: Mr Kgalema Motlanthe, a former President of South Africa; he is the Commission’s chairman Mr Rodney Dixon QC, a British barrister Chief Emeka Anayaoku, a former Commonwealth Secretary-General Gen Davis Mwamunyange, a former head of the Defence Forces of Tanzania Prof Charity Manyeruke, a professor at the University of Zimbabwe Prof Lovemore Madhuku, also a professor at the University of Zimbabwe Mrs Vimbai Nyemba, a former President of the Law Society of Zimbabwe The Secretary to the Commission is Mrs Virgina Mabiza, the Permanent Secretary for Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs. Commission’s Terms of Reference The Commission’s proposed terms of reference were set out in our bulletin of the 3rd September [link] and they remain the same in the proclamation. Essentially the Commission is charged with investigating the circumstances leading up what the proclamation calls “the 1st of August, 2018, postelection violence” – a euphemism for the killing of six demonstrators in Harare on that date – and making “suitable recommendations” in the matter. Commission’s Procedures, Powers and Duties Procedure Section 10 of the Commissions of Inquiry Act gives the Commissioners power to make rules “for their own guidance and the conduct and management of proceedings before them and the hours and times and places for their sittings”. The rules do not have to be published; they can be informal.

Select target paragraph3