Commissions Watch

Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence

25 Sept 2018

25th September 2018
• Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence
The Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence has now been set
On the 14th September the President published a proclamation (No 6 of
2018) establishing the Commission [The proclamation can be viewed on
the Veritas website – link] and the seven Commissioners were sworn in on
the 19th September.
Members of the Commission
The Commissioners are:
Mr Kgalema Motlanthe, a former President of South Africa; he is the
Commission’s chairman
Mr Rodney Dixon QC, a British barrister
Chief Emeka Anayaoku, a former Commonwealth Secretary-General
Gen Davis Mwamunyange, a former head of the Defence Forces of
Prof Charity Manyeruke, a professor at the University of Zimbabwe
Prof Lovemore Madhuku, also a professor at the University of Zimbabwe
Mrs Vimbai Nyemba, a former President of the Law Society of Zimbabwe
The Secretary to the Commission is Mrs Virgina Mabiza, the Permanent
Secretary for Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs.
Commission’s Terms of Reference
The Commission’s proposed terms of reference were set out in our bulletin
of the 3rd September [link] and they remain the same in the proclamation.
Essentially the Commission is charged with investigating the circumstances
leading up what the proclamation calls “the 1st of August, 2018, postelection violence” – a euphemism for the killing of six demonstrators in
Harare on that date – and making “suitable recommendations” in the
Commission’s Procedures, Powers and Duties
Section 10 of the Commissions of Inquiry Act gives the Commissioners
power to make rules “for their own guidance and the conduct and
management of proceedings before them and the hours and times and
places for their sittings”. The rules do not have to be published; they can
be informal.

Select target paragraph3